Blog · Buying a rank tracker

Rank tracker free trial: trial length, keyword limits and card rules for 16 rank trackers

Twelve of the 16 rank trackers we checked offer a timed free trial, most of them 7 to 14 days. SE Ranking, Nightwatch, SERPRobot and AgencyAnalytics give 14 days with no card. Semrush, Moz Pro and Serpstat ask for a card and bill you when the trial ends unless you cancel. Ahrefs, AccuRanker and SpyFu offer no trial at all. Several reviews still list an AccuRanker trial that its own site no longer offers.

Check a live Google position while you read

Google rank checker

Live · checked today

Querying Google results…

Type any keyword and see today's top Google results (up to 10). Add your domain and we highlight where you rank. This is a live check of the positions the full product tracks for you daily.

Try:

>10 Not in the top 10 for this keyword today.

Track daily and get an alert the day it drops.

Rank tracker free trials compared

Every row below comes from the vendor's own pricing page, pricing FAQ or help center, not from a directory listing. Where the vendor does not state something, the cell says so. Trial terms change more often than prices do, and the directories are slow to catch up, so read the vendor page on the day you sign up.

Free trial length, card requirement, limits during the trial and what happens after it, for 16 rank trackers
Tracker Trial Card Limits during the trial When it ends
SE Ranking 14 days No 10 projects, 750 keywords a day, 20 AI prompts a day No card on file, so nothing is charged
Nightwatch 14 days No Full toolkit at your plan's keyword cap The FAQ says it bills automatically, yet takes no card
SERPRobot 14 days No Not stated Stops; you hire a paid bot to continue
AgencyAnalytics 14 days No All features Stops unless you pick a plan; 30 day money back after
Mangools 10 days (FREE+) No Not stated on the pricing page today Drops to the free plan; 48 hour refund on paid plans
Semrush 7 days Yes, refundable check Exports disabled; one trial per toolkit Converts to the plan you chose unless you cancel
Serpstat 7 days Yes, $1 check Plan limits apply Auto-renews and charges after 7 days
Wincher 7 days of Pro No Not stated You must choose a paid plan; no free plan
Advanced Web Ranking 7 days No 150 keywords, daily, one search engine Data kept 14 more days; 30 day money back on paid plans
Ranktracker 7 days No Not stated Simply expires; no refunds during its promotion
Pro Rank Tracker 7 days No 100 Terms daily; accounts reviewed by hand Not stated
Moz Pro Yes, length not stated Yes Medium plan only; one trial per customer Billed monthly unless cancelled; reminder a day before
Ahrefs No trial Not applicable Ahrefs Free: Site Explorer and Site Audit for your own sites No refunds in general
AccuRanker No trial shown Not applicable Sign up now redirects to a demo booking Full refund within 14 days of first purchase
SpyFu No timed trial Not applicable A free version with no time limit 30 day money back guarantee
SEO PowerSuite No timed trial No, free download Free version, one competitor per project No refunds for partial use

Which trials bill you automatically

Three vendors take a card before the trial starts, and all three turn into a paid subscription unless you cancel. Semrush runs a small charge to check the card and refunds it, then converts your account to the plan you picked after seven days. Serpstat charges $1 as a check, returns it, and switches on auto-renewal the moment the trial begins. Moz Pro needs a card, offers its trial on the Medium plan only, emails you a day before it ends and bills monthly after that.

None of that is unusual, and a card trial is fine if you plan to buy. The practical point is to set a calendar reminder the day you start, because a seven day window closes on the same weekday it opened, and a team that started a trial on a Friday tends to notice on the next Monday.

Nightwatch is the odd one. Its pricing page says "no credit card required", and its FAQ also says that if the trial is not cancelled within 14 days it will bill you for a monthly subscription. Without a card on file the second statement is hard to act on. Ask support how the handover works before you load your client list into it.

The trials that no longer exist

AccuRanker is the one buyers most often get wrong. Review sites, and Google's own result snippet for its old sign up page, still describe "14 days for free". On AccuRanker's site today the word "trial" does not appear on the pricing page or the homepage, and the old sign up address redirects to a demo booking form. What remains is a full refund within 14 days of your first purchase, which is a reasonable safety net but means paying first. If a trial was the reason AccuRanker was on your shortlist, our AccuRanker alternative piece prices the daily trackers that still let you start without paying.

Ahrefs does not offer a trial and says so plainly: it never runs discounts, and Ahrefs Free covers Site Explorer and Site Audit for sites you own, not Rank Tracker. SpyFu and SEO PowerSuite replace a timed trial with a permanent free version, which is useful for a look around but will not show you daily rank tracking at the volume you would buy.

How to get a buying decision out of a 7 day trial

Seven days is enough to decide if you use them on the questions that will cost you money later, rather than on the dashboard tour. Four checks do most of the work.

  1. Load your real keyword list on day one. Use the locations and devices you will actually pay for. Several trackers count a keyword in a second city or on mobile as another slot, which halves the keyword count on the same plan. Our Pro Rank Tracker pricing breakdown shows how quickly that adds up when a vendor bills in combinations.
  2. Compare a few positions against an independent reading. Check five keywords by hand in a clean browser session on day one and again on day six. You learn both how close the numbers are and whether they really refresh every day.
  3. Watch a drop happen. Pick a volatile keyword and see how long it takes for the tool to tell you it moved. That lag is the thing you are paying for, and a trial is the only time you can measure it for free.
  4. Export what a client or your boss would receive. If the trial disables exports, as Semrush's does, ask for a sample file before you pay.

Price the plan you would need after the trial, not the one the trial runs on. Trial caps like SE Ranking's 750 keywords a day or AWR's 150 are set to be comfortable, and the plan that fits your full list is often a tier higher. The rank tracker cost comparison puts 19 trackers on one cost per keyword basis so you can do that sum before the trial ends.

If you are really testing competitor monitoring

A lot of trials get started for the wrong job. If what you want is to see when a rival changes its prices, pages or ads, that is a different product from a rank tracker, and a competitor monitoring tool will tell you more in a week than any rank tracker trial. Rank trackers show where you and named rivals sit for your keywords, which is the part of competitor watching that search teams report on.

Where SerpsTracker fits

We do not run a timed trial, and we would rather say so than dress up a free tier as one. Signing up takes an email and a 6 digit code, not a card, and you can track five keywords by hand before you decide. After that every plan is paid, month to month, with no contract: $39 a month for 250 keywords, $99 for 1,500 across ten sites and $249 for 5,000 with the API, all checked daily, and a year costs the price of six months. For a buyer who wants to run the four checks above on a real list, a month of Starter costs less than most tools' cheapest plan and is not tied to a seven day clock.

See the plans and limits, or compare trials against price with our SE Ranking pricing and Wincher pricing pages, the two most common trials we see buyers start.

Rank tracker free trial questions

Which rank tracker has the longest free trial?

Among the trackers we checked, SE Ranking, Nightwatch, SERPRobot and AgencyAnalytics offer 14 days, the longest timed trials, and none of the four asks for a card to start. Mangools offers 10 days. Semrush, Wincher, Advanced Web Ranking, Ranktracker, Serpstat and Pro Rank Tracker offer 7 days.

Does AccuRanker have a free trial?

Not any more, as far as its own site shows. The AccuRanker pricing page and homepage no longer mention a trial, and the old sign up address now redirects to a demo booking page. Search results and older reviews still quote a 14 day free trial. AccuRanker does offer a full refund within 14 days of the first purchase.

Does Ahrefs have a free trial?

No. The Ahrefs pricing FAQ says it never runs discounts and points website owners to Ahrefs Free, which gives limited access to Site Explorer and Site Audit for sites you own. Ahrefs Free does not include Rank Tracker, and the pricing page says Ahrefs does not issue refunds in general.

Which rank tracker trials need a credit card?

Semrush, Moz Pro and Serpstat. Semrush charges a small refundable card check and converts to the plan you chose after 7 days unless you cancel. Serpstat charges a $1 check and auto-renews after 7 days. Moz requires a card, offers the trial on the Medium plan only and bills monthly afterward.

Is there a rank tracker without a trial that is still low risk to try?

Yes. A low monthly price with no contract works as a trial. SerpsTracker has no timed trial: you sign up with an email and a 6 digit code, no card, and can track five keywords by hand before paying. The Starter plan is $39 a month for 250 keywords checked daily, cancel any time.

Start today

No card, no seven day clock.

Sign up with an email and a code, track five keywords by hand, then pick a daily plan from $39 a month for 250 keywords. Cancel any time.